30-Apr-2019 • Corporate

ME has made three changes to its board, including the appointment of a new chairman and the addition of two directors, bringing the total number of directors at the bank to eight.

Jim Evans has been appointed the bank’s new chairman, commencing 30 April 2019. Jim is a veteran of the Australian Business community with over 40 years’ experience, including 30 years in banking and financial services. He brings a wealth of leadership experience, particularly across financial and risk management areas, and has a strong track record leading large complex businesses to deliver profitable and sustainable growth. He worked at Commonwealth Bank for more than 10 years including five as Chief Risk Officer of Wealth Management during which time he held directorships in funds management, general insurance, life insurance and lease financing businesses. Jim has served as the chairman of Suncorp Portfolio Services Limited and as a non-executive director of Australian Infrastructure Fund Limited as well as Hastings Funds Management Limited. He is currently chairman of ASX 100 listed company, Pendal Group Limited, and its major subsidiary JO Hambro Capital Management Holdings Limited. He is also a Non-executive Director of Investa Wholesale Funds Management Limited and ICPF Holdings Limited.

Peter Everingham will also join the ME board on 30 April 2019. Peter is a seasoned executive with over 25 years' corporate experience including 18 years in the digital sector. Peter is currently a director of Super Retail Group and a director of iCar Asia. He is also a governor and director of the World Wide Fund for Nature, Australia. He was formerly managing director of SEEK Limited's International Division and served as a non-executive director of its education businesses: IDP Education, Online Education Services, and THINK Education. He was also chairman of Seek’s China subsidiary, Zhaopin Limited. Prior to SEEK, Peter was Director of Strategy for Yahoo! in Australia and Southeast Asia.

David Issa joined the board as a director on 1 April 2019. David is currently a director at Industry Fund Services and has over 30 years of experience in the digital, technology, banking and insurance industries. Previous roles include CEO of online consumer network One Big Switch and FiftyUp Club, CEO of Personal Insurance and CIO at Insurance Australia Group. At Westpac Banking Corporation David held roles including CIO Institutional Banking Group, Program Director Westpac Investing, and CEO of the bank’s wholly owned software incubator, Qvalent.

ME’s previous chairman, Ken Hodgson, retired from the ME board on 1 April 2019. Ken joined the board in January 2012 and was chairman from January of 2016.

ME CEO, Jamie McPhee, thanked Ken for his long service and welcomed the new directors.

“Thank you to our recently retired director, Ken Hodgson, for his significant contribution to the bank, particularly as chairman. Ken helped guide the bank through a period of considerable change, contributed substantially to our growth, and has been a great support to the other directors and my executive team.”

“ME has a strong track record of growth and innovation in a competitive industry. The new director appointments extend the depth and breadth of experience on our board, adding digital capability and industry expertise as we work to capitalise on our successes and further our mission to help all Australians get ahead.”

The ME Board is:

  • Jim Evans (chairman)
  • Cheryl Bart
  • Christine Christian
  • Greg Combet
  • Peter Everingham
  • David Issa
  • John Nesbitt
  • Elana Rubin

– Ends –

Did you find this page useful?
We're sorry, please tell us why?
Please leave your feedback before submitting.
Please note: This form is for website feedback, so enquiries won't reach our customer service team. If you need to get in touch, call or email us here.
Thanks for giving ME feedback.